hand-writing

Why i chose a Pen Name…

I have always fancied the idea of writing…in fact somewhere in my heart i always wanted to write but for some reason could never come out in the open and accept the fact that writing gives me happiness…though, from quite some time i have been writing down my thoughts at times in the form of poetry, at times in the form of a story and at times just a loose journal of my floating thoughts and feelings….

So when i finally decided to come out of the shell/fear and start writing and more importantly sharing it with people and rewarding myself with the gift of writing that gives me so much joy and satisfaction…creating a BLOG was just the next step…But when for the first time i sat down to start off my blog…i could not start with my very own identity, i did not feel comfortable giving it my own name…It was a scary thought to let the world know about my inner most feelings…how do i feel about things/people and life in general…i was a little scared…I think i could not gather the courage to go ahead because i always feel that i would be judged for my writings…i know its silly but this feeling is just there and it does not go….so i opted for an imaginary or a pen name.

As a child at times i used to wonder why so many famous writers have a ‘pen name’…wondering how would it feel to be known with some other name but not with your own name…i used to find it very difficult …after all i love my name…i always have loved my name 🙂

But now i think i know why so many writers (specially in earlier times) used to have a pen name…May be they were also afraid of getting brutally dissected by society and more than that their own people, friends and family….
It was such an alluring though that i decided to put it on my blog and just to make it more authentic i searched the web a little to know more about writers and pen names…and to my surprise there is a loong list of writers who write under the comfortable coating of their pen names and not the real ones…and yes i guessed it right… this practice was very much popular in earlier times ( one interesting fact that came across was that earlier a lot of women writer used to write under the shield of male pen names)… but even today a lot of famous writers use pen names instead of their own…Below is a small list of some writers popularly known by their pen names…

mark

Mark Twain’s real name was Samuel L. Clemens

George Eliot’s real name was Mary Anne (Mary Ann, Marian) Evans ( yes she was a woman)George-Eliot

Lewis Carroll was Charles Lutwidge Dodgson Lewis-Carroll-author-and--001

O. Henry was William Sydney Porter o-henry1

Pablo Neruda was Neftali Ricardo Reyes Basoaltopablo

Ayn Rand’s real name was Alisa Zinovyevna Rosenbaum
ayn-rand

Agatha Christie was Agatha Mary Clarissa MillerIMF15-0112092914.jpg Author Agatha Christie

J.K. Rowling is Joanjkrowling

Leave a Reply

